Good Days and Bad Days

There are good days, when I realize that all of our Disney Princes are smokin’ hot.  And there are bad days, when I realize that all of our Disney Princes are gay.

There are good days, when a girl named Emma makes me three – count them, THREE – friendship bracelets.  And there are bad days, when I have to threaten to turn off the Wii three times – count them, THREE times – before the kids (pretend to) start behaving.

There are good days, when I’m with a group of kids that all know how to play Headbands correctly (That means not looking at your cards, Aiden).  And there are bad days, when someone spills half of a bottle of glitter glue all over the table.

There are good days, when we play a movie that I haven’t already seen a hundred times.  And there are bad days, when we play Lilo & Stitch 2. Again.

There are good days, when I can argue with John for over 30minutes about why The Packers are infinitely better than The Patriots.  And there are bad days, when Joshua comes crying to me every. single. time. he loses at Mario Kart claiming that the others are being mean and are beating him on purpose (um, duh! That’s exactly the point of the game, kiddo)

There are good days, when I meet a new character in the hallway (I didn’t even know Goofy’s son, Max, was on this ship until I found him waiting for the elevator two days ago!) And there are bad days, when we have to cancel Tinkerbell’s Talent Show until further notice because Tinkerbell had a nervous breakdown and flew back to Neverland…

And then there are great days, when Matt (a developmentally challenged 12 year old sweetheart) comes over as soon as he’s checked in just to give me a hug and tell me that he wants to be best friends, or when Austin finds me in the Wheelhouse to show me all the Mix ‘Ems that he’s done after I taught him how to combine characters two days ago, or when JR tells me “I’m coming back on another cruise in October – thank GOD you’ll still be here!”

It’s kids like these that make a lot of the stress and exhaustion worthwhile.  Because, there are good days, when I have a spare 30minutes to read my book that I’ve been plodding through for almost two months; and there are bad days, when I’ve only gotten 5 hours of sleep and I have an 11 hour shift ahead, and I can’t wear my shorts because the zipper is broken and I haven’t gotten it fixed yet because I’m always working during Costuming hours, and I only have a 30minute lunch break so I’m hungry and grumpy.

However, I realize that I have yet to give you a sense of what my day-to-day life is really like, so here is today’s schedule (keep in mind that this is actually a beautiful, beautiful schedule compared to what it can be some days):

9:30-10:00am                     Lab (playing ball games and stuff)
10:00-10:30am                   LWash (assisting with any potty accidents)
10:30-11:30am                   Lab
11:30am-12:00pm            LWash
12:00-1:00pm                     LUNCH BREAK
1:00-2:30pm                       Anyone Can Cook: Cookies
2:30-3:00pm                       Animator’s Studio
3:00-4:00pm                       Craft studio
4:00-6:00pm                       DINNER BREAK
6:00-6:30pm                        Lab
6:30-7:00pm                       Andy’s Room
7:00-7:30pm                       Wheelhouse  (the Wii and computer games)
7:30-8:30pm                       Stitch’s Adventure Squad
8:30-9:00pm                       Workshop
9:00-10:00pm                     Craft Studio
10:00-10:30pm                  Animator’s Studio

Tadaaa! And then Bed Time.

Snooze ya later.

One thought on “Good Days and Bad Days

  1. You made my day with your good days and bad days post!

Leave a Reply

