The Woes of Curtains and Artificial Lighting

With my alarm ringing, my eyes open to the semi darkness. I only have one of my curtains pulled closed, so the main cabin light is filling the room. Mel has an early start, so she must already be awake and getting ready. I slowly stretch out my legs, trying to calculate how much time I really need before I have to start work and if I can push snooze for another 15minutes. “I start work at 9:30am and I set my alarm for 8:00am, so if I take a quick shower and skip breakfast, then that leaves….” I’m pretty sure I can get away with another 15 minutes. I don’t even mind the light that is drifting in through the curtains, in fact, it’s a little refreshing. At night, it’s so pitch black in our cabin that I can’t tell the difference between when my eyes are open and when they are closed. The only illumination within the room is a small flashing light emanating from the back of the TV, and Mel and I have swiveled the screen so that even that light is blocked out. It’s also insanely quiet. The only sounds you can hear from outside the cabin (besides the occasional heavy bass) are those coming from the anchors. I hear them now, so we must have already reached port and are getting settled in. Wow, that was fast.

I wonder what the day’s schedule is going to be like. We’ll be in Costa Maya this morning, and I hope I have a little bit of time to get off the ship and enjoy the sunshine. My Teva tan is progressing nicely, so I would love a chance to even out a little.

I look down at my phone to check the time. It’s 4:15pm.

It’s not morning yet, it’s still the night before. The anchors are being pulled up, not let down, because we’re still in Grand Cayman and I still have another 5 hours of work left; I’ve only just woken up from a quick power nap in between shifts. The light is on because I turned it on when I came in – Mel isn’t here. The TV is still on, with Clark Kent/Tom Welling’s beautiful face still filling up the screen from the end of the episode that I just finished watching.

Ugh.

Leave a Reply

